Sprung: Indian Springs State Park

A few weeks ago, I had planned on camping at Indian Springs State Park, but after driving through the campsites, I decided to pass. Sites were on top of each other and vast majority were RV’ers. Plenty had Christmas lights strung all over & loud music going. (Disclaimer: It was a Saturday… but still not my style to camp there even mid-week.)

Still, I wanted to explore the park. The trails were extremely limited, although they are extending a connector trail to Dauset Trails Nature Center. (Very cool, but got there just before closing) Here’s a link to Dauset Trails Nature Center: http://goo.gl/W27Z1

The trails were surprisingly confusing for a state park. I started at the trail head, but there were signs pointing in various directions that were in no way a loop. One sign referenced “The Long Trail” but there were no other markers and no reference on the map. The trail itself had pretty moments, for people who want to do a ‘robust’ mile or so.I followed a ‘non-official trail’ to a quiet spot by one of the streams. Put on my water shoes and did some wading. Found a few paw prints. It was nice but nothing spectacular.Pulled several ticks off me during the hike. In the distance of the trail, I noticed a huge hollowed-out tree. I went off trail to investigate it further. It was interesting to see up close. I doubt it was left-over from the Indian era, but it was a treat. With my exploration, I did 2.9 miles, following various unofficial spurs and walking along a trail outside the park.

The “Spring” was a joke, I pictured some sort of spring you could swim in, Nope. It’s a pipe that is surrounded by a plastic bubble with hoards of people with countless gallon jugs waiting to fill them up. Heaven forbid you want to just fill up an 8oz bottle. There are posted rules about how many bottles you can fill, etc, but it was clear the rules were not enforced. Amusingly, the signs indicate the water is not potable. 

The restrooms (at several locations) had no soap, no paper towels or hand dryers, and scant toilet paper. (So if you go, be prepared.)

There’s a lovely stream (actually intersection of 3 streams). I copped a squat on a rock by the water and in no time, the place was packed with people wading in the water. It was a lovely spot on a weekday. (But I’d still go to High Falls hands-down…)

The most interesting part of the park was the cemetery. I have a special reverence for old burial sites.The bright white spot on this headstone was not there when I shot it… I went back on Easter to see if it was my imagination or lighting. Nope. (Creepy!)

There was no information about the cemetery at the location and the folks at the Park office were not interested in chatting except to book campsites or sell t-shirts. 

Here’s a link to the official state site: http://goo.gl/mNW9h

One other warning… while sitting on the stream, I watched the local law enforcement stop people left and right for speeding. I’m guessing they have a nice little revenue stream of a speed trap there. So watch your lead foot.

Leave a Reply

